terça-feira, 22 de setembro de 2015

Rotting Christ: Classics Revisited in an Amazing Live Album

Nearly 30 years of its formation, ROTTING CHRIST released their first live album. And a career with a long discography, full of great songs, it was necessary to release a double album with 31 songs in total, which was recorded in 2013 in Athens, Greece. It is therefore unlikely that fans dislike the tracklist for covers much of the greek's career.

The CD 1 opens with "666" a sound of their latest album (Κατά τον δαίμονα εαυτού - or translating to English, True In Your Own Spirit); follows with "Dub Sag Ta Ke" (Aealo); Athanatoi Este (was released in the collection Semigods Of The Serpent Cult); following with the title-track "Κατά τον ..."; "Nemecic" (Theogonia); "After Dark I Feel" (Sleep Of Angels); "Sorrowful Farewell"; "Among Two Storms" (A Dead Poem); 

the old "Gloria De Domino Inferni" (EP Passage To Arcturus, 1991), a great sound; coming soon after two other of the early days, "Feast Of The Grand Whore" and "The Nereid Of Esgalduin" (the Satanas Tedeum demo); having another classic in sequence, "Forest Of N'Gai" (also of Passage ...); "The Sign Of Evil Existence" and "Transform All Sufferings Into Plagues" from the big Thy Mighty Contract, both extremely striking songs; more oldies with "Fgementh, Thy Gift" (Ade's Winds demo, 1992); serving as the end of the first CD, the cover for the also Greeks THOU ART LORD, with "Societas Satanas," which was fucking great.

The second CD opens with the unprecedented "Demonon Vrosis"; "Quintessence" and "The Call Of The Aethyrs" (both more dark phase of the Genesis album ); coming two great sequences of his latest release , "In Yumen - Xibalba" and "Grandis Spiritus Diavolos"; "Welcome to Hel” is another unreleased song, very welcome; in my opinion the two following are the highlight of the album, "King Of The Stellar War" and "Archon", from the wonderful album Triarchy Of The Lost Lovers, 1996; 

"Exiled Angels" and "Dive The Deepest Abyss" are from Thy Mighty Contract; and "The Fourth Knight Of Revelation" date back further into the past in Ade 's Winds demo; followed with " The Sign Of Prime Creation" (Theogonia) ; with "Enuma Elish" (also from Theogonia ) the thing is heading for last, coming with climate "Noctis Era" (Aealo).

In the case of ROTTING CHRIST, and being a fan of the band for many years, could sound forced my opinion about 'Lucifer Over Athens'. But here, the album is allowed to flow alone, so great quality of the songs, refinement of a highly experienced band, and with a ruthless charisma, make this double petard something unique, fated drive to complete success, given that requirements for such not lacks. The cover and all art that involves is highlight for beauty. Without repairs.

Review: Marcello Camargo
Editing: Carlos Garcia

Released by: Season Of Mist www.season-of-mist.com/


Sakis Tolis – vocals/guitar

Themis Tolis – drums

Van Ace – bass (guest)

George Emmanuel – guitar (guest)

CD 1

1. 6 6 6
2. Dub-Sag-Ta-Ke
3. Athanatoi Este
4. Kata Ton Demona Eaftou
5. Nemecic
6. After Dark I Feel
7. Sorrowfull Farewell
8. Among Two Storms
9. Gloria De Domino Inferni
10. Feast Of The Grand Whore
11. The Nereid Of Esgalduin
12. Forest Of N’Gai
13. The Sign Of Evil Existence
14. Transform All Sufferings Into Plagues
15. Fgmenth, Thy Gift
16. Societas Santanas

CD 2

1. Demonon Vrosis
2. Quintessence
3. The Call Of The Aethyrs
4. In Yumen – Xibalba
5. Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
6. Welcome To Hel
7. King Of A Stellar War
8. Archon
9. Exiled Archangels
10. Dive The Deepest Abyss
11. The Fourth Knight Of Revelation
12. The Sign Of Prime Creation
13. Non Serviam
14. Enuma Elish
15. Noctis Era

Official Premiere Video:

Nenhum comentário: